THE POWER OF THREE: For Good. For Local. For Ever | DONATE TODAY

Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award

This award is given each year to someone who, like Matt, knows the importance of serving your community to help make it better. This award recognizes an individual who has selflessly served the community with vision, humility, dedication and enthusiasm.  

We are looking for nominees for the 2023 award.

Entry Deadline: Friday, May 12, 2023.

The winner will be announced at the Foundation’s annual BRIDGES TO THE FUTURE GALA RECEPTION

Award Winners

2021: Dr. Michael Perry and Bindy Lillge (co-recipients)

Past Recipients

Sharing the 2021 honors are Bindy Lillge, Director of Joseph’s Food Pantry, Freeport, and retired FHN CEO Dr. Michael Perry. The duo is being recognized for their collective efforts in attempting to alleviate Stephenson County’s on-going food insecurity issues.

2021 co-recipient Bindy Lillge serves as the Director of Joseph’s Food Pantry. During the pandemic, Bindy established an outdoor drive-through food distribution serving approximately 120 families per week. She strives to provide community members with a safe place and welcoming atmosphere. In addition to her work at the Food Pantry, Bindy partners with Northern Illinois Food Bank (NIFB) and FHN to assist with the Rx Mobile Pantry. Bindy also works as a hospice nurse.

Former FHN CEO and 2021 co-recipient Dr. Michael Perry is devoting his retirement to help our community neighbors by organizing Rx Mobile Markets in collaboration with FHN and NIFB. Dr. Perry has practiced for five years as the principle primary physician at the FHN Community Healthcare Center located at the Stephenson County Health Department. He has also worked as a “community connector” to help different organizations and agencies work together to assist families in need. Dr. Perry has never stopped promoting, caring for and loving the Freeport area. Previously Dr. Perry served as a family practice doctor and President and CEO of the Freeport Health Network.

Dr. Michael Perry and Bindy Lillge, 2021 Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award Recipients

2021: Dr. Michael Perry and Bindy Lillge (co-recipients)
2020: Melinda Hartman
2019: Edwin R. Curry (posthumously)
2018: Teri Winter
2017: Marjorie F. Phillips
2016: Bill Kloos
2015: Alan Wenzel
2014: David A. Steenrod (posthumously)
2013: Matthew A. Marvin

Matthew A. Marvin (1914-2013)
Community Leader & Philanthropist

Matthew A. Marvin was one of those special people who understood the value of being involved and who cherished the opportunity to generously give back to his hometown.