Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award

Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award2013 Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award winner: Matthew A. Marvin

Matthew A. Marvin was one of those special people who understood the value of being involved and who cherished the opportunity to generously give back to his hometown.

This award is given each year to someone who, like Matt, knows the importance of serving your community to help make it better.  This award recognizes an individual who has selflessly served the community with vision, humility, dedication and enthusiasm.

We are looking for nominees for the 2018 award. Entry Deadline: September 13, 2018.  The winner will be announced at the Foundation’s annual Fall Grant and Donor Reception.

Click here for the nomination form.

The 2016 Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award winner was Bill Kloos. Kloos accepted the award at the Foundation’s Fall Grant and Donor reception on October 20, 2016.

Bill Kloos was an active volunteer and an invaluable supporter of nonprofit and service organizations in the Freeport area for most of his life. Kloos spent several years volunteering on the Northwestern Illinois Area Agency on Aging (NIAAA), six years on the Stephenson County Senior Citizens board of directors including two years as board president, and he volunteered for the United Way. While Malcolm Eaton Enterprises Board President, Kloos played an instrumental role in helping plan, coordinate and successfully launch the Spirit Bathroom Tissue line in 2002. Today, Spirit Bathroom Tissue provides over 15,000 hours of paid work training to adults with developmental disabilities each year. In addition to the recognition, Bill Kloos was awarded $1,000 to present to a non-profit 501(c) (3) of his choice. Mr. Kloos chose Malcolm Eaton Enterprises, an organization that serves people with developmental disabilities as the recipient of this cash award.


Tim Cook of Malcolm Eaton Enterprises, Bill Kloos, and Dan Schmitt

Tim Cook of Malcolm Eaton Enterprises, Bill Kloos, and Dan Schmitt


Dan Schmitt, Executive Director Freeport Community Foundation and Bill Kloos, 2016 Matthew A. Marvin Community Impact Award winner.


Award winners:

2013:  Matthew A. Marvin

2014: David A. Steenrod (posthumously)

2015: Alan Wenzel

2016: Bill Kloos

2017: To be announced at October 26 reception.